Wake

I am spending the day away from school and am with mama at Ah Ma’s wake instead. No, it’s not morbid. It’s quite educational!I have packed my Trunki with all the stuff I need for the day and there are lots of visitors at the funeral home. Did I also mention that the place is air-conditioned? Cool!But I do wonder why they call it a wake. Ah Ma is resting peacefully in her casket. There is a nice photo of her in front and lots of pretty flowers all over. There is a never ending flow of peanuts and water too.Maybe that that is why it’s called a wake. It’s hard to sleep with the sound of peanut shells being cracked open and when you need the bathroom after drinking too much cold water!Little Awake Isaac

Leave a Reply

