Kiln kin

It’s a public holiday today because it is Hari Raya Haji. So no school for me. We don’t seem to be doing much in K1 anyway because our teachers are on leave and the relief teachers don’t seem to know what to do. Piffle!I had a great start to the week though. On Sunday morning, papa met up with someone who also studied at Arizona State University. They had only met online and decided to see each other face-to-face. I am glad they did because mama and I came along.We met at a place called the Thow Kwang Dragon Kiln, which is a mere hop, skip and jump away from where we stay. In fact, we drive past it everyday on my way to school!We were invited to breakfast in a treehouse! Boy, did they have a really yummy spread! When I was done with breakfast, I walked over to a pond and fed fish an entire loaf of bread. Then we were given a tour of the place.I walked into a traditional kiln and looked at the various clay pieces they made. I really liked the kiln because it was so big and it reminded me of a tunnel. Then we visited another traditional kiln that been fired up. I couldn’t walk into that one, of course, or I would have been baked to a crisp!My folks started yakking away with their new acquaintances and I decided that I should walk around taking photos with mama’s camera phone. Papa took some photos too, but had to resort to his phone because his camera malfunctioned. Our host, Aunty Carol, has some more arty photos of the kiln.Thanks for inviting us over, Aunty Carol. I will definitely visit the kiln again!Little Potty Isaac

Leave a Reply

